Micropropagation of Acer Palmatum

Discussion in 'Maples' started by Bernie, Oct 3, 2004.

1. Bernie

Bernie Member

Hey,

I'm a High School student working on tissue culture. I was wondering to what extent it has been attempted with Acer Palmatum. Are there any books on the topic? Have any of you tried it?

This is a wonderful forum!

Thanks, Bernie

2. mjh1676

mjh1676 Active Member Maple Society 10 Years

Wow!

Sounds like an aggressive project! I had to do a little research to find out what the heck you were talking about-"micropropagation". But after a little research, I have a tiny idea about what you are undertaking.

I would bet that little has been done in this area concerning maples as they are readily propagated by seed, grafting, layering, and cutting. They also are not threatened in any widespread way and the focus of micropropagation has probably been focused on other more threatened species. Also, I don't think I read much about the micropropagation of "woody" plants.

Also, it seems the genetic varitation within maples, especially Acer palmatum and its many cultivars, is quite large and controlling genetic expression invitro might be a challenge. But in any case, I am interested and hope that someone with background would respond. I am sure we all would be interested in knowing more about what you are attempting and how you came to the decision of Acer.

Good Luck!
    Michael

3. Bernie

Bernie Member

While doing research I found out that Acer plattanoides (Norway Maple), and A. rubrum (Red Maple) have been propagated sucessfully via tissue culture. It seems that A. palmatum hasn't been very successful and is can be grown easily with other techniques. However I think that the lack of success may be due in part to a lack of a currect medium and process. I'll fiddle with it a bit and see what happens :)

Thanks,

Bernie

4. mr.shep

mr.shep Well-Known Member 10 Years

Hi Bernie:

< I was wondering to what extent it has been attempted with