Cryptomeria Japonica "Black Dragon" turning brown...

Discussion in 'Gymnosperms (incl. Conifers)' started by stubbbz, Jul 7, 2006.

1. stubbbz

stubbbz Member

Hello, I am new at landscaping and also new to the plant/tree/shrub world. One of the new plants I planted is a Cryptomeria Japonica(Black Dragon). After about 5 days of it being in the ground, the top area of the tree is turning brown (ends of the branches mostly). The nursery where we bought it from sent someone over to look at it, and the person said that the tree is in "shock" because it was planted to low to the ground and the bottom branches should not touch the ground at all. I followed the directions on the tag that said plant the tree with the root ball about an inch and a half above the ground, I did that. The two other trees(Japanese Maple and Blooming Cherry tree) I put in are doing fine and they were planted the same way. If it matters I used a mixture of peat moss and bonemeal in the bottom of the hole before I put the tree in. Also, I used some peat moss on top of the hole around the base of the tree. Also the tree is getting part sun. Any help would be greatly appreciated. This tree was over a hundred bucks and it would really be bad if it died. Thank You.

Attached Files:

2. Ron B

Ron B Paragon of Plants 10 Years

>The nursery where we bought it from sent someone over to look at it, and the person said that the tree is in "shock" because it was planted to low to the ground and the bottom branches should not touch the ground at all.<

This is jive, with no basis in fact--unless they were trying to make a point that is not coming across here.